Parent reviews for Ghost of Tsushima: Director's Cut

Common Sense says

Gorgeous but bloody tale of revenge, redemption, sacrifice.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 18 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 29 reviews
Adult Written byMichael Afton February 2, 2021

Not as bad as it seems.

First off, the game itself is very historical and has GREAT role modles, putting you in the shoes of a samurai, and the whole point of the game is to stop your enemys from taking over a place called Tsushima. Sure the game has some blood but no gore at all. I found a way in the settings to dissable most of the blood anyway if you dont want your child seeing blood. No nudity, maybe some swearing but nothing TO bad. Overall, this is a great game, and tweens should be able to play it. Thank you for taking your time to read this review.
Adult Written byBrolo December 26, 2020

Ghost of Tsushima

Ghost of Tsushima is one of the best PlayStation exclusive titles that I have ever played. First off, the game just looks gorgeous. It's one of the very few games that I've just been blown away by how pretty it is. And to top that off, the photo mode is simply incredible - it goes into so much detail and is honestly the best I've seen in any video game, period. Everything, from the trees, to the grass, to the animals, even the blood on Jin's sword, is so realistic and stunning. Now I'm going to talk about the gameplay. At first, learning how to perfectly parry and dodge enemies is very hard, but as time goes on performing these moves successfully gets more familiar and thus easier. This isn't a game where you can just mash random buttons and hope for the best; combat requires technique, precision and split-second timing. You may not like this as it isn't exactly casual, but personally I find it to be enjoyable. Speaking of technique, one really cool feature of Ghost of Tsushima is the ability to switch between different fighting stances. Different stances perform best against different enemies, so you have to be constantly changing stance depending on who is attacking you. I personally find this quite fun, as it provides a challenge. Exploration is great; it's an open-world, full of wildlife and flowers to observe and collect, and (as mentioned earlier) the scenery is simply breathtaking. Anyway, let's move on. Skill progression is done pretty well, it's presented in a sort-of table that's divided into different categories that make navigating and choosing abilities easier, depending on what you're really looking for (stealth, combat, etc.). Loading times are pretty quick which isn't ever a bad thing, the music is really scenic and cool, the characters (especially Jin) are interesting as you get to see them develop throughout the story, and the plot is fairly simple yet intriguing. There are also plenty of side-missions to distract you and keep the fun going once the main story has been completed. Throughout my play-through, I have encountered some minor bugs and glitches, but nothing game-breaking and nothing that ruins the experience. If you like to be immersed in your games then these may irritate you, but they aren’t frequent and they mostly fix themselves after a few seconds. Also, switching between different weapons can be confusing. In order to switch to explosive arrows, for example, you have to press L2, then right on the D-pad, then triangle. These combinations can be hard to remember and you may find yourself struggling in battle, attempting to recall how to equip the different throwables and types of arrow (I know I have). Overall, Ghost of Tsushima is an excellent game with only a few small flaws. I would highly recommend it to anyone with a PlayStation 4 or 5, because trust me, you do not want to miss out on this masterpiece. 9.3/10.
Adult Written byTHE IVANATOR October 16, 2020

Takes my breath away

This games takes my breath away everyime I play. Beautiful scenery with a great combat system is the perfect pair. The developers really outdid themselves and have nailed this game down to the smallest details. It's moderately violent, death is part of the game though, yet it is in no way excessive and the blood can be turned off. I don't usually write reviews but this game definitely deserves one. On point.
Adult Written byGreetings12345 July 19, 2020

Should not be M for mature

in this game you can turn off blood under display options and there is some language and no sex I think anyone 11 years or over should play this

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byJeniffer johnsen July 21, 2020

Awesome game for teens

I would recommend this new ps4 hit game for children 12 and up because there is some gore but less than most other games on the market. Very action packet fun for my two boys 12 and 15
Adult Written byBen123455 July 20, 2020

Violence

There is a setting to turn off blood. This does not apply to cutscenes and scenery, but it gets rid of blood splattering with every cut.
Adult Written bytrou July 21, 2020

A WORK OF ART

Amazing game.Sucker Punch started the ps4 era and ended it with a swan song with ghost of tsushima. A captivating and heartfelt story.The gameplay is filled with so many abilities and the skill tree is just fascinating with three modes.The emotional beats connecting jin to his allies and his uncle. The mongols invasion of the island offers a breath of fresh air to the open world genre.The mythical quest are so much fun and helps to deepen the lore of the game.Chasing foxes to their dens.The graphics are just plain amazing especially playing on the old generation.The particles are just amazing from dense flower fields to the burning towns you can see the amazing parties details.The amount of flower and leave details is simply stunning. Cannot recommend enough. This really makes you feel in feudal Japan.The team at Sucker Punch went above and beyond for the photo mode with plenty of features and options such as depth of field or grain not to men ion the awesome black and white kirusawa mode.A must buy
Parent of a 12-year-old Written byJordifamily August 5, 2021

Great game, not 16 but still violent.

This game is awesome, the gameplay is BEAUTIFUL, the scenery is better than in any game I've ever played. The reason I rated it 14 was violence. This game has a setting to turn off blood but not in cutscenes. The cutscenes can be very severe for younger kids, but other than that it is a fine game for anyone who wants good combat and story.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byMarcus P. July 21, 2021

Pure Masterpiece

AMAZING, I cannot stress this enough, this game is a masterpiece. Along with that it isn’t violent, it’s only bad thing is that swords can have blood on them, but you can turn off blood.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byBronson A. July 21, 2021

Not that bad

It’s not bad, you can turn off blood, no language, no sexual stuff. Shouldn’t be Mature rated.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byLukeDavis January 3, 2021

Amazing Game

Ghost of Tsushima is a wonderful game, the imagery is outstanding, the story is thrilling, and there are endless side quests to play after you finish the main story. However this game has lots of violence, there is however an option to turn off blood. This makes the combat much more kid friendly and at that point the game should be rated T not M. Any mature pre-teen or teen could handle this game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byBelovedODave78 December 19, 2020

A very game that deals with sacrifice and honor, I can recommend it for mature teens and adults

The game overall is great with the storytelling and combat mechanics. But it can get pretty violent at times: there's constant blood, brutal swordplay, setting people on fire, and some graphic cutscenes of people getting beheaded and mutilated. Although the blood can be turned off, it doesn't apply to the cutscenes. Some scenes show the main character's buttocks, but its only shown for a second or two, nothing worse. The least that you can be worried about is perhaps the language. It's very mild for an M rated game and can only be heard a few times throughout the game (S-word is the strongest you'll hear). Overall, a 16+ for the violence throughout the game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byMandalin89 December 13, 2020

Outstanding

This is a master piece of a game! The narrative along with the graphics were spot on. You can tell the studio really cares for their work and looking forward to see what else they can do with it. I feel it could be more gory as in if you slice off their arm you should see that etc but otherwise love the game and the game play. Really a outstanding job and very well done sucker punch.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byThe Boss 101 November 2, 2020

I love it soo much

Its awsome. Its bloody but it's ok, you fight with swords,spears, bows and arrows etc. I dont think it should be rated 16.
Adult Written byThe_Frontdoor August 29, 2020

A masterpiece

Honestly the game is just a beautiful masterpiece. It makes you think about what your doing and it gives you a choice (most of the time) to be honorable or not. Blood can be turned off of your unsure about it. But the game is just so aesthetically please omg you would want your kids to have it
Adult Written byJames Peter August 16, 2020

It should not have an m rating

The main character Jin is a great person and everything he does is because of his code. In the game there is a mode in settings to turn off blood which makes it a lot less violent.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byDaniel L. July 31, 2020

Brutal video game is yet the BEST

M: intense violence, bloody images and language
Adult Written byJames William July 26, 2020

Doesn’t deserve its M rating

This game does not deserve it’s mature rating since the game has a setting where you could make it so their is no blood which practically removes the M rating. Not to mention the fact that the main character is a very good person trying to stick to his morals for the whole game and gives a great message for children. You could argue the fact they do show his bottom when he enters and exits the hot spring, but that is not a real argument for the fact that the 2017 film boss baby had the baby’s buttocks shown for much longer then with the main protagonist of this game and there is barley any swearing especially compared to movies such as avengers infinity war which only has a pg 13 rating.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models