Parent reviews for Cruella

Common Sense says

Disney villain is de Vilishly delightful, daring, and dark.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 45 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 106 reviews
Adult Written byblewis1709 May 27, 2021

Great movie!

Once again, a re-imagining of a classic that makes you love one of Disney's most hated villains. A couple of things to note, while in my opinion there isn't anything too terrible for children younger than 13, some points in the movie will be hard for younger children to keep tabs on. I had to whisper to explain several things to my 8 year old. Just something to consider when thinking about bringing the kids. It is truly a wonderful movie! I would watch it again, and it certainly leaves you wanting more! There is a male character that wears makeup and seems to be on the more flamboyant side, if that is something that matters to you. However, there isn't any evidence of his or really anyone else's sexuality. The language wasn't an issue at all and while there is implied violence and murder, there isn't any gore or scary parts. My 8 year old loved it (and her biggest concern was when the dog(s) weren't around, if they were coming back or ok, lol
Adult Written byBlake_F June 6, 2021

Here’s the deal

To start off, I enjoyed this movie. Do I think it’s worthy of a PG-13 rating… kind of. It’s not AS intense as a lot of other PG-13 films out there but is more intense than most, if not all, PG films. This movie rides the line kind of in between those ratings imo.

If you’re on the fence about whether or not you want your younger kids (9ish or under) to watch this maybe watch the first 15-20 minutes. The movie is also fairly long and I think would be hard pressed to hold the attention of a younger audience.

There’s a major fashion/punk rock theme to it if that’s your thing, I certainly enjoyed it. I’ve seen a lot of comments from people who don’t like that this film attempts to humanize Cruella. I guess that depends on your outlook on life and whether or not you think Villains are worthy of being humanized or receiving any empathy.

The best description I read about this movie is that it’s basically Wicked meets Devil Wears Prada hahaha which is actually pretty spot on.
Adult Written byLil War June 3, 2021

Awful Story Celebrating Hate & Revenge

This is possibly the worst movie I have seen in years. A tale about a young girl with no redeeming qualities who seeks revenge, she gets progressively meaner and more evil throughout the film. No redemption for anyone. It’s like a Disney version of The Joker except you don’t care about any of the characters, just the dogs! It is also quite boring. The values in “The Devil Wears Prada” were heaven-sent by comparison. What Disney movie is driven by hate?? This one apparently.
Adult Written bymeydiana.rizki June 2, 2021

Cruella de Vil

I Just watched this movie and it is by far the best movie I have ever seen in 2021. The story, the writing, the actors were 10's across the board. The fashion, The acting, The Attitude and The music is also 10/10. If you are ever in the mood to feel like a bad b**ch, this movie fully embodies it. Emma stone was meant to play cruella and she embodied her perfectly.

Watching the movie, the background story on cruella explains a lot on how her behavior is currently. can't deny as well that cruella embodies everyone who is hungry for power and fame. its also very funny. the directors make sure not to make in every scene funny but funny at the correct moments.

Another thing I love was the high fashion. The choice to play the movie cruella during 1970's/80's london was a very good choice, not to mention the fact that during that time fashion was really high couture. (compared to now, but has its moments).

now if there are any negatives. to be honest, i found not much negatives. tho i did feel the ending was missing something but that could just be me. another thing is of course the dead parent. but considering the fact that cruella joins other orphans and becomes a band of thieves makes you forget that her mom died. of course with her mentioning her a few times but it doesn't take over the whole movie

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this movie. again, if your feeling like a bad b**ch? watch this movie. If you're a fashion lover? watch this movie. If your a disney fan and want something other than singing people and crying and depression and seeing something opposite? watch this movie. or if your in the mood of watching two iconic actresses (Emma Stone and Emma Thompson) and watch them lock horns and have a fashion cat fight? watch this movie.

my rating? out of 10? 11/10

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bylovelesshumenbe... May 29, 2021

great movie though NOT FOR KIDS i

first of all i think this film is amazing well filmed BUT not for younger veiwers because it is very very violent and to much drinking and smocking
when i went to see it i saw 18 kids there and they were so scared i thoght bad for them

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byajdctx12 May 28, 2021

Fantastic film but VERY dark for disney. Worthy of a PG13 rating

Amazing film. The filming, the music, the atmosphere as a whole was just fantastic. But parents should know that this film is very very dark at times. Like at parts characters are tied up, gagged and left to die in burning buildings, and near the beginning a woman falls off of a cliff. Throughout the rest of the film, especially near the end the tone gets so dark that its easy to forget its a disney film. It feels much more similar to a toned down version of Joker. Personally I loved the darkness of it all, and hope disney does this more often, but if you have young kids they will most likely find the film disturbing.
Adult Written byelsaant June 1, 2021

Superb, Dark and Delightful

I loved everything about this movie! My boys aged 7 and 11 also watched and really loved it! The story is a triumph of good over evil ... and I loved learning the story of Cruella - who in fact isn’t a villain just misunderstood! My favourite movie in last two years ... and Cruella is my new role model! The soundtrack and fashion is also next level! I cannot fault this movie at all... I hope there is a sequel! Wow!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byJohnDawn May 28, 2021

Surprisingly Dark, but Well Made

This is a suprisingly well made film. But some of the content isn't appropriate for a kid under 13. And in all honestly children under that age may just not find it interesting because it really is more of a teen/adult targeted film. My kid was frightened by some of the content and the punk rock vibe (which I appreciated) was too intense for them.
Parent of a 12-year-old Written byjmphil01 June 10, 2021

Awesome movie.

Extremely well done. Not sure why violence is a 4 rating by common sense. No blood, minimal fighting. Much more violent films get rated as a 4. Story is very adult in origin so younger children would have a hard time grasping some content. Story is however, dark in nature.

Very original film. Ignore any reviews criticizing Disney for how they did this remake. Looking at it as its own film with no preconceived notions its excellent. Walt himself said Disneyland should always be changing and I am sure he would say the same about his films. They should be fresh and new and bring new takes and ideas to the films.
Adult Written byVixyFox June 4, 2021

While not the worst Disney remake, it still suffers from many of the same problems.

While not the worst Disney remake, it still suffers from many of the same problems. This is mostly in the changing of villains to make them seem oppressed and innocent. These iconic and evil antagonists shouldn’t be re-written to accommodate modern morales. Disney should stop reusing their old films and instead create new role models for their audience.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byChef Lorraine June 5, 2021

Not suitable for 13 and less

My daughters are 10 and 11, we figured Disney would be acceptable and we came on this site to see what was being said. I was a little skeptical with it almost being a 50/50 of not good (no one was getting into detail of why it wasn’t good tho so we thought maybe just some super strict parents) and some were saying it’s okay.... It’s Disney. We were aware of “violence” but were not expecting murder set ups to the point of gagging Cruella, and setting fire, the words Murder being shown across the screen numerous times being pushed off a cliff (this we were aware from another review, the dogs end up pushing someone off the cliff) and for example “killing my only child” talk. This was to much for a “children’s” movie. Both of my daughters were extremely uncomfortable at certain scenes, where I ended up having the remote in hand to fast forward hoping it was just that scene. The first 45-1 hour was okay but then it’s got to graphic and I ended up skipping thru the remaining movie.

Great movie for adults. I personally would of watched it on my own but not with my kids. For that I’m very disappointed. I’m not strict but I feel this is to much for this age gap. Our kids are exposed to already to much.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byAlfredaubry June 4, 2021

Corella was amazing

First off I was shocked at how much I loved the music, I will definitely be buying the soundtrack. The story had a pleasant twist and I found myself laughing out loud. Perfect family movie!
Adult Written by09stevensonl May 28, 2021

She's Cruella de vil but she's not cruel

It's a really good family film perfect to sit with maybe your slightly older kids and have a movie night after you've put the younger ones to bed it has moments it may be considered intense in skme scenes but in a good way.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byctaft55 May 27, 2021

Perfect

I have no idea why it’s rated pg 13 it’s perfectly ok for kids

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMommyratings June 23, 2021

Darker than expected…

The fashion and music were fun. A new take on a classic and no dogs were injured nor any cruelty towards animals shown. Pretty clean cut as there was no sex, suggestive language, nor foul language. One scene included alcohol, but wasn’t over the top since she was of age but wasn’t necessary either.
However, there was a lot of anti-Christian imagery. Her name was Cruella Devil (pronounced De Ville), lives at Hell House, and she wasn’t exactly the hero but was shown as such then they qued Sympathy for the Devil by Rolling Stones. It definitely stood out as I am not one to read too much into things against my religion. Just a heads up for Christian parents to be ready for conversations about the darkness shown.

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byOreo012003 June 14, 2021

Toxic

A lot like the Disney franchise.... devilish, predictable, and not worth going to see. No role models and the main character grows abusive and nean to her friends with no change

This title contains:

Consumerism
Parent of a 12-year-old Written byChewiesmum June 6, 2021

Good movie, different than the norm

My 12 yr old boy and his friends loved it. They usually only like action movies, but really enjoyed this especially because they thought the music was really good. I thought it was fun, obviously a darker film than most, but that's what made it. There was implied violence, but no gore. The characters were fun, the music was great, and the costumes were awesome.
Adult Written byAshley B. June 6, 2021

One of my favorites

My kids and I watched this movie together and I could tell at some parts they were nervous because they are a bit younger but it’s great to watch with your family and an extraordinary movie.
Adult Written byerikagonzales10 June 2, 2021

VERY Good movie I don't know why it is PG-13

This movie is really good. I Loved it, My 6yr old also loved it. It is not violent, I just recommend to skip the first part of a woman falling from a cliff, skip it for young kids. In that part they don't show the woman after falling or anything it is not violent.
Parent of a 15 and 18+-year-old Written byb080170e May 31, 2021

Dark and suspenseful in a good way

My youngest child is 15, so age wasn't a factor, but I don't think I'd be comfortable if my child was too much younger. There is nothing inappropriate about the movie at all, but the rest of the reviews are correct that it's dark. The storyline is complex and mysterious. The acting was delightful! The soundtrack was so good my husband looked it up on the internet after the movie!!

There are several scenes that involve possible (or actual) death (not gory) but this would be alarming for younger children. Lots of suspense that might be too intense for younger children, but will delight teens and older. However, it's a wonderfully made movie that I want to watch again and again. Great job Disney!

Pages