Parent reviews for PAW Patrol: The Movie

Common Sense says

Brave, talented pups save the day in pre-K adventure.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 5+
Based on 10 reviews

Kids say

age 5+
Based on 12 reviews
Adult Written byYviisme August 18, 2021

Great BUT adopters beware

It's a great film and we love the puppies in our house. BUT and it's a very big BUT, the adoption, 'revisiting the scene of your trauma', storyline totally caught us off guard as it was totally missed in the trailer. For a child who is adopted and whose past and returning to it frightens or haunts them, watching this story was a big trigger. We spent the afternoon after the cinema mopping up the emotional side effects despite loving the film.
Adult Written byColeAnders August 20, 2021

Pawsome movie!

Our daughter is 3 and loved the action in this film! Loved the graphics and it had an entertaining storyline even for us adults! Taught meaningful lessons and showed the bond between pets, their owners, and friends. Teaches kids to be courageous and that they can do anything if they put their mind to it. I wish I could give it 10 stars!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byVictortor August 20, 2021

Great For Paw Patrol Loving Kids

The movie is more intense than the TV shows, but well done with good messages and entertainment.
I saw a couple reviews mention the adoption theme. Our eight year old adopted twins were not bothered at all by that. It is a positive message. Good to be aware if this is a sensitive message for your child, but otherwise it’s not offensive or concerning.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 5-year-old Written byJonathan F. August 20, 2021

Fun for the whole family

Great movie for all ages. Avoid the UK version - they actually dubbed it over the US voices to have character speak english with a British accent. It ruins the experience!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byNichole A. September 6, 2021

it was funny i loved it

i think all kids would like it becaues it is so funny

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bycynthia f. August 22, 2021

This big screen adaptation was a great 1st time theatre experience

We enjoyed this movie. There was no, in your face, overt preachy messaging, other than don't be a selfish baby like humdinger and listen to your friends so you can be supportive. I am a bit sensitive to the political messaging in children's movies-this had some undertones, but not enough to disrupt the entertainment factor. There was the usual "old white guy" = greedy selfish fool with his pants down(literally) shtick repeated over and over and over. There was some mild peril and deep feelings at times. Sensitive movies goers take care.
Adult Written byKmandu August 21, 2021

Not for sensitive kids--some spoilers

We were so excited about this movie and added it on the calendar at the start of the summer. My children are 4 and 6 and one of them is adopted. Both of my kids were in tears by the end of the movie. The adoption theme in the movie took me off guard (lesson learned that I will watch movies before I let my kids see them) and the movie content is definitely not light hearted like the shows or mini movies. While I loved the characters and think they hit the target in some ways, I am so disappointed that this movie isn't really geared towards younger kids. Themes of adoption, dog napping, vehicle accidents/explosions, etc. Some kids can definitely watch from a younger age but if you have a highly sensitive child or an adopted child I recommend watching it before letting them see it.
Parent of a 2 and 4-year-old Written byLinaAmiri August 21, 2021

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byYmgonzalez August 20, 2021

Puppy Power!! Small SPOILER.

Great family movie, definitely a lot more action than the series but I think it's to engage the children to sit through a longer version of what they are use to. Humdinger seems to be up with the trends of this modern world hashtag humdinger, and they do add a few commercialism into it. The only thing that I notice was the message Skye gave to Rubble when he accidentally got her outfit put on him though it was funny for the kids, she tells him it's not how it looks but how it makes you feel. Suggesting he can wear her pink outfit if he feels . Other than that the intensity might make sensitive kids be scared of what happens with Ryder and Chase. So parents be prepared just in case the kids ask questions.
Adult Written byZomBrie August 19, 2021
This movie was way more intense than my kids were expecting. Not nearly as lighthearted and goofy as Paw Patrol usually is. Dealt with heavy anxiety, perilous situations, and past traumas. My 4 year old was scared and nearly in tears at some parts. I would avoid if your children are sensitive to intense shows/movies.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness